Full list of personel changes at the International Federation of Boat Show Organisers following AGM at ICOMIA/IFBSO Congress in Split

The IFBSO AGM had an uncharacteristically emotional note at this year’s ICOMIA/IFBSO Congress, held at the beginning of June in Split, Croatia and hosted by CBIA (Croatian Boating Industry Association), as it saw long-term IFBSO president Goetz-Ulf Jungmichel step down after 6 years in office and the election of the Federation’s first ever female president, Jennifer Thompson (NMMA). Also leaving office was Bengt Wallin who stepped down from his role as Treasurer, a role he had held since 2008. Wallin has been the longest serving member on the IFBSO Executive Committee ever, having been involved since 2001 with a previous tenure as Treasurer and President. He will be replaced by Hanse Thorslund of the Stockholm International Boat Show.

During the AGM, IFBSO presented Goetz-Ulf Jungmichel and Bengt Wallin with honorary lifetime memberships in recognition of their outstanding contribution and longstanding commitment to the work and development of the Federation which they served as members, on the Executive Board and as directors and presidents.

Following the election at the AGM on June 7, 2019, the officers and members serving on the IFBSO Executive Committee for the period 2019-2020, are as follows:

  • Jennifer Thompson (Miami Boat Show), President
  • Irene Dros (METS-Amsterdam RAI) – Vice President
  • Goetz-Ulf Jungmichel – Past President
  • Hanse Thorslund (Stockholm International Boat Show) – Treasurer
  • Anne Dunbar (IBEX) - Member
  • Jerry Flaxman (Atlantic City In Water Power Boat Show) - Member
  • Domenic Genua (BIA – Sydney International Boat Show) – Member
  • Nouf Al Hajeri (Kuwait Yacht Show) - Member
  • Jurij Korenc (Internautica International Boat Show) - Member
  • Dirk Kreidenweiss (Interboot Friedrichshafen) – Member
  • Jacob Ryder (Gothenburg Boat Show) - Member

Following the creation of the #ReThinkPlastic initiative, IFBSO held its first environmental workshop hosted by Peter Franklin with guest speakers from the Blue Marine Foundation, Plastic Soup Foundation and support from Cleanwave and the Seabin Project. Given the huge outreach of boat show organisers with upwards of two million visitors around the world per year, Peter Franklin urged the show organisers to spread the environmental message and it was suggested to create a simple, targeted, IFBSO-branded visual message raising awareness about plastic and work towards staging “plastic free shows”.

Congress finished with the traditional gala dinner, thank you addresses to all contributors and the official handing over of the Congress organisation to next year’s hosts. The evening also featured special tributes to Nick Hopkinson (IBI) and Thom Dammrich (NMMA) on the occasion of their retirement.

The next annual congress which will take place in Zhuhai, China from May19-22,  2020 and will be hosted jointly by the China Boat Industry and Trade Association (CBITA) and China Cruise & Yacht Industry Association (CCYIA).