Swedish firm begins operations at new facilities in Malaysia and Thailand

SF Marina, the Swedish manufacturer of floating concrete breakwaters, docks and waterfront structures, has started operations at its new manufacturing facilities in Malaysia and Thailand. This is in addition to expanding its production sites in Sweden, the US and New Zealand.

The new Malaysia and Thailand manufacturing facilities strengthen SF Marina’s commitment to the Asian market. Located in the Kuala Lumpur and Bangkok regions, respectively, they are scaled to meet the current demand for floating concrete structures within the area.

In Sweden, last year SF Marina added a sixth precast production bed and built a new concrete plant at its facility in Wallhamn. This year, it acquired an adjacent building to accommodate the expanding demand for its products. These steps provide the means to deliver increasingly larger items such as 10m (W) x 3m (H) breakwaters and a floating hotel structure measuring 22m (W) x 63m (L).

The factory expansion of the North American division, SF Marina USA, added a second precast production line for increased capacity. It also reconfigured its logistics to accommodate the delivery of larger structures via barge. Located in Norfolk, Virginia, it matches the delivery levels of SF Marina’s other primary plant in Dubai.

In New Zealand, SF Marina is constructing a second production facility to match the growing demand for its products within the region. This expands the company’s presence in the country roughly 300%. The location is expected to begin operations this summer.

“SF Marina has expanded its production capacity worldwide to keep pace with global demand,” says Michael Sigvardsson, SF Marina System AB CEO. “But that’s just half of the equation. We’re also growing our technology and working on exciting, new products to help marinas weather the storms for the next 100 years.”

SF Marina claims to have pioneered the floating concrete pontoon in the 1920s. It has additional production facilities in Egypt, Greece, Saudi Arabia, Spain and Turkey.