The Annapolis Sailboat Show celebrates 50 year’s as the industry’s premiere in-water event; nominees for Cruising World’s Boat of the Year Award are among dozens of new boats making their debut at the show

The United States Sailboat Show opened yesterday in Annapolis, Maryland celebrating 50 years as sailing enthusiasts’ favourite annual event.

Show organisers claim the Annapolis show, launched in 1970, created the in-water format for sailboat shows and today enjoys international recognition as the largest international, in-water all-sail show. This year’s event will also go down as the largest in the show’s history, according to show manager Sheila Jones.

The Annapolis show also serves as an industry focal point for the premiere of dozens of new sailboat models from boatbuilders around the world, many of which are among Cruising World magazine’s nominees for the 2020 Boat of the Year awards.

The annual awards, selected by an independent team of judges, recognize the ‘best new production cruising boats and multihulls laid out and equipped for coastal and offshore sailing and voyaging,’ and will be announced in the January issue of Cruising World magazine.

Twenty-four boats – 17 monohulls, 6 catamarans and a trimaran – from a wide range of international builders have been nominated for the 2020 awards.

“This is a deep and highly diverse fleet, ranging in size from the compact Beneteau Oceanis 30.1 to the full-sized Hanse 675 to the Eagle Class 53 catamaran, a radical foiling cat with a rotating wing mast,” said Herb McCormick, Cruising World Boat of the Year director. “It promises to be a very competitive contest, and our judges will certainly have their work cut out to determine the winning entries.”

2020 Cruising World Boat of the Year Nominees

Amel 50

Dufour 430

Italia 9.98

Bali 5.4

Eagle Class 53


Bavaria 50

Elan Impression 45.1

Sun Fast 3300

Bavaria 57

Excess 12

Lagoon 46

Beneteau Oceanis 30.1

Fountaine Pajot Elba 45

McConaghy MC50

Beneteau First Yacht 53

Grand Soleil 34 Performance

Neel 47

Catalina 545

Hallberg-Rassy 44

Swan 48

Dufour 390

Hanse 675