Amsterdam RAI, organiser of the METSTRADE Show in Amsterdam, has announced the opening of entries for the 2018 DAME Design Awards.

Interested exhibitors are invited to submit their most innovative designs by September 18 to be judged by an independent international jury of experts. All submissions are made using the METSTRADE Exhibitor Portal.

The DAME Awards are arranged every year as part of the METSTRADE Show, the world’s largest marine equipment event and only truly international B2B exhibition for the leisure marine industry.

For 28 years, the DAME has focused attention on the art and science of design in all aspects, from styling, functionality and innovation, through to ease of implementation, practicality of use – and even packaging. It is judged by a panel of top naval architects, boat, interior and industrial designers, plus user experts.

To be nominated and then to win a DAME category and attain the ultimate prize of DAME Award Overall Winner marks a product as being at the pinnacle of design practice in the industry. Last year’s overall winner was Scanstrut for its sailing enabling RS Venture Connect Conversion Kit.

“Scanstrut has participated in the DAME Awards for many years, with several nominations and Special Mentions,” says Scanstrut CEO Tom Reed. “However, to win the overall DAME Award is a great honour and a milestone achievement for our brand and the whole team at Scanstrut. It has further raised our company profile internationally with our distributors, boatbuilders, media and innovation partners and we are already seeing the commercial benefits of winning the award.

“To win, your product must be original, innovative and its benefits clearly conveyed. If you believe in your idea, then I would thoroughly recommend taking part in DAME – it’s a game changer if you’re successful!"

The METSTRADE team has also appointed new jury members for 2018. Renowned naval architect Andre Hoek from Hoek Design in the Netherlands, and US marine electronics specialist, Ben Ellison, were appointed to the DAME jury in 2018. Naval architect and well-known technical writer Dave Marsh also permanently joined the jury after his guest appearance last year. They replace outgoing jury members Jean Francois de Prémorel of Prestige/Beneteau Groupe and technical author and consultant Nigel Calder, who have completed their term.

The new members will join the jury chair, Birgit Schnaase of Schnaase Interior Design, together with jury members Dr Arjen Jansen from TU Delft University, ICOMIA’s technical manager Patrick Hemp, Olivier Racoupeau of Berret Racoupeau Yacht Design, Centrostiledesign’s Davide Cipriani and Yachting World editor Elaine Bunting.

DAME Award participation is open to manufacturers and authorised suppliers who are registered as exhibitors or co-exhibitors at the METSTRADE Show. For more information, visit the METSTRADE Exhibitor Portal or contact METSTRADE at